The nationwide tally for the John R. Wooden Award– granted to college basketball’s leading gamer– was exposed Saturday, with 15 gamers consisting of Iowa’s Luka Garza and Oklahoma State’s Cade Cunningham amongst those included on the list.

Garza, the runner-up for the Wood Award last season to Obi Toppin, has actually provided on his status as the Wood front-runner throughout the 2020-21 project. The 6-foot-11 center goes into the last weekend of the routine season balancing 23.9 points per video game, finest in the Big 10, to accompany 8.4 rebounds per contest. Garza’s fifth-ranked Hawkeyes have actually invested the majority of the season in the AP leading 10 and are a No. 2 seed in Joe Lunardi’s newest NCAA competition forecast heading into Sunday’s regular-season ending with Wisconsin.

Likewise in the mix for the award is Cunningham, whose spectacular freshman season has actually assisted develop him as a prime prospect for the No. 1 choice in the 2021 NBA draft. The 6-foot-8 point player is balancing 19.7 points, 6.3 rebounds and 3.5 helps per video game for a 17-7 Cowboys group that appears set on reaching the NCAA competition for the very first time given that 2017.

Other notables on the Wood tally consist of Villanova guard Collin Gillespie, who maintained his area on the list regardless of suffering a season-ending knee injury in a win over Creighton on Wednesday. Gillespie balanced 14.0 points and 4.6 helps for the season for a Villanova group that declared the Big East regular-season title.

Ohio State forward E.J. Liddell was the only gamer on the last tally who did not appear on the previous Wood watch list revealed in early February. Liddell is balancing 15.9 points and 6.7 rebounds per video game for an Ohio State team that is holding down a No. 2 seed in Lunardi’s newest Bracketology upgrade.

Dropped from the list given that the February upgrade were UConn’s James Bouknight, Minnesota’s Marcus Carr, Pittsburgh’s Justin Champagnie, Houston’s Quentin Grimes, Rutgers’ Ron Harper Jr. and Louisville’s Carlik Jones.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here